The College Squash Association (CSA) is the collective name for the Men’s College Squash Association (MCSA) and the Women’s College Squash Association (WCSA). The MCSA and the WCSA are the governing bodies for intercollegiate squash in the United States.

The Sport of Squash: Squash is a sport played by two players with racquets in a four-walled court with a small rubber ball. Since the early 1900s, squash has been played at colleges and universities in North America. The first formal men’s intercollegiate national title was awarded in 1932, and the first formal women’s intercollegiate national title was awarded in 1965.

Mission: As the governing body for intercollegiate squash, the CSA ranks players and teams, establishes and enforces rules, hosts annual individual and team championships, and archives college squash history. There are approximately 30 men’s and 30 women’s varsity collegiate squash programs in the United States and approximately 40 club programs. The CSA is dedicated to growing college squash.

The Association: The CSA is comprised of member schools. Only schools with varsity teams are granted full voting rights in the Association. The CSA is operated by the Men’s CSA Executive Committee and the Women’s CSA Executive Committee. Each Executive Committee governs its respective Association. The Executive Committees are comprised of varsity coaches from member schools.

Over the past few seasons, the College Squash Association’s Executive Committees have made strategic hires to assist the organization — the Executive Administrator and US Squash:

  • The Executive Administrator, who is retained by the WCSA and MCSA Executive Committees, is responsible for drafting team ranking proposals; drafting and modifying rules; communicating with coaches and schools; archiving CSA history; writing, editing, and maintaining the CSA website; taking photographs and videos; seeking and being the liaison with advertisers, sponsors, and partners; and acting as a business advisor.
  • US Squash, which is retained by the WCSA and MCSA Executive Committees, is responsible for managing and organizing the national championships; managing the CSA’s finances, including preparation of tax documents, reporting, auditing, and the payment and collection of dues, fees, and bills; providing and maintaining online match tracking software; providing insurance coverage for official CSA matches; developing and assigning CSA referees; and providing individual player ranking proposals.

The MCSA and WCSA are in full control of the CSA and the Executive Administrator and US Squash are contracted to help fulfill the Association’s mission.

History: In March of 1931, the men’s Intercollegiate Squash Racquets Association, later known as the National Intercollegiate Squash Racquets Association (NISRA), was founded. This association, which eventually became the MCSA, was initially led by students. In the 1950s, control of the association was transferred to coaches. Today, the MCSA is led by an Executive Committee of college coaches.

The WCSA is led by an Executive Committee of college head coaches. The U.S Women’s Intercollegiate Squash Racquets Association, the original name for the WCSA, was established in 1970. In 1973, the first women’s national team championship was held.