Tennis - 1.jpg


The NCAA Men's Tennis Championships are held to crown a team, individual, and doubles champion in American college tennis. The first intercollegiate championship was held in 1883, 23 years before the founding of the NCAA, with Harvard's Joseph Clark taking the singles title. The same year Clark partnered to Howard Taylor to win the doubles title.

Since 1963, the NCAA organizes separate tournaments for Division I and II. A tournament for Division III was added in 1973.